• Languages
  • Store
  • FAQ

Industry News

(1/6/15) Job Fair Scholarship Deadline Approaching

One scholarship is available for an ETA Student Chapter Member to attend the 2015 Education Forum and the International Wireless Communications Expo and Job Fair March 16-20, 2015 in Las Vegas at the Las Vegas Convention Center. This includes hotel, meals, and plane tickets. Deadline for submission is January 12, 2015. For more information on rules and guidelines, please contact Michele Altman (maltman@eta-i.org)

(12/10/14) ETA Announces 2015 ETA Officers

ETA announced the incoming Board of Directors for the 2015 year:

  • President - Fred Weiss, CET
  • Vice President - John Baldwin, CETsr
  • Secretary - Joe LaGanga, CETma
  • Treasurer - Ira Wiesenfeld, CETsr
  • Communications Division Chair - Bill Brinker, CETma
  • Communications Secretary / Treasurer - William Webb, CET
  • Education Division Chair - Dr. Bill Bailey, PhD
  • Education Secretary / Treasurer - David Jolliff
  • Certified Technician Division Chair - Chris Hoch, CETma
  • Certified Technician Secretary / Treasurer - John Zielinski, CETma
  • Shop Division Chair - Terry Zaccarino, CET
  • Shop Division Secretary / Treasurer - Clark Adams, CETsr
  • Director of Chapter Relations - Richard Booth, FOT
  • Cabling Division Chair - Tom Dover
  • Cabling Division Secretary / Treasurer - Tommy Bonner, PhD
  • Renewable Energy Division Chair - Jay Warmke, PV1

(12/5/14) The Passing Of David Robison

We regret to inform the USMSS community that we have lost a dear friend and a fearless leader today. David Robison passed away this morning Friday December 5th.

Dave was a unique character, a wealth of information and a friend to all. He will be greatly missed. Our condolences go out to Dave’s family, his wife Debbie and all the employees at Communication Service.


(11/7/14) Members Approve USMSS Proposal to Change Name

The members voted to adopt the U.S. Motorola Service Station (USMSS) proposal to change its name to the Technology Resource Network International (TRNI). The association will now be known as TRNI.

Bill Dow, executive director of USMSS, made the announcement last month. Voting ran from Oct. 25 to Nov. 6, Dow said.

An organization email said the transition will begin immediately and go through the 2015 calendar year. The official change will take place Jan. 1, 2015.

At the same time, a vote was taken to delete some obsolete terminology concerning the criteria for membership. The criteria were not changed, and the motion carried nearly unanimously.

via RadioResource Media Group

ETA Press Releases

2014 Releases


ETA International Assists US Department of Labor


New Board Elected to ETA International and Annual Award Winners Selected


ETA’s Military Liaison Appointed to Serve NATO


ETA Meets Demand for Aerospace and Avionic Fiber Optics Training and Certifications


ETA Offers Unparalleled Professional Development Opportunities


Photonics Technologies Extend to Almost Every Sector of Science and Society


ETA Hosts Hands-On Training and Certification Workshops at IWCE


SAE Remains Devoted to Facilitating Aerospace Fiber Optics and Photonics Training and Certification




Champions Compete at SkillsUSA


Wiley Announces Cabling: The Complete Guide to Copper and Fiber-Optic Networking, 5th Edition from Sybex


Surge in Solar Energy Use Prompts ETA to Host Training


ETA Honored by Department of Defense


Automation Federation Recognized for Contributions in Protecting The Manufacturing Industry from The Risks of Cyberattack


New ETA Cabling Connection Certification Emphasizes Proper Techniques


Increased Wireless Usage Prompts New ETA Distributed Antenna Systems Certification


ETA Develops New Certification To Serve The Communications Industry


Slayton Solutions Provides Honeywell Video Monitoring System For ETA® International


ETA Responds to Demand for New Communications Certification